Dana VanderLugt | Writer

Events

Booking an Event: 

I am happy to visit your school, library, bookstore, organization, or book club to talk about Enemies in the Orchard, its historical background, my writing process, and/or navigating the world of publishing. I love to do Q&As, and as a former middle school English teacher, would be happy to lead hands-on writing exercises. 

Simply contact me, and let’s talk about what you need for your students, library, or community. We can work together to create something for just about any budget.

I also have worked with a couple of schools to be their featured author for One School, One Book (a school-wide reading program) and provided reading calendars, discussion questions, videos, and an author visit for the kick-off!

For more information, author interviews, excerpts, or images, you can also contact: 

Jessica Westra, publicist

[email protected]

616-698-3208

Upcoming Events:

  • Feb. 8, 2024: Author Interview with Jack Ridl, Graves Hall, Hope College, 7 pm, Holland, MI
  • Feb. 19, 2024: School visit, Ross A. Lurgio Middle School, Bedford, NH
  • Feb. 29 & March 1: Kickoff, One Book, One School, Hamilton Middle School, Hamilton, MI
  • March 6, 2024: Kickoff, One Book, One School, 5/6 at Georgetown, Hudsonville, MI
  • March 7, 2024: School visit, East Rockford Middle School, Rockford, MI
  • March 12, 2024: School visit, North Rockford Middle School, Rockford, MI
  • March 12, 2024: School visit, Kenowa Hills Middle School, Grand Rapids, MI
  • March 21, 2024: Celebration of Children’s and Adolescent Literature, Sienna Heights University, Adrian, MI
  • March 22, 2024: School visit, Belmont Elementary School, Belmont, MI
  • April 11-13, 2024, Festival of Faith & Writing, Calvin University, Grand Rapids, MI
  • April 16, 2024:  Grandville Ladies Lit Club, Grandville, MI

Past Events: 

  • April 14, 2023: School visit, Zeeland Christian Elementary, Zeeland, MI
  • March 27-29, 2023: School visits, Baldwin Street Middle School, Hudsonville, MI
  • March 9, 2023: School Library Journal’s Middle Grade Magic
  • Tuesday, Sept. 12, 6:30 p.m., Book Launch at Schuler Books, Grand Rapids, MI 
  • Saturday, Sept. 23, 1-4 p.m., Author Talks and Signing at MI Wine Co. with historian and author Greg Sumner
  • Tuesday, Sept. 26, 6:30 p.m., Author Talk & Signing at Gary Byker Library, Hudsonville, MI
  • Thursday, Sept. 28, St. Gerard Catholic School, Lansing, MI
  • Saturday, Sept. 30, 11 a.m.-1 p.m., Meet & Greet with book signing, The Book Cellar, Grand Haven
  • Thursday, Oct. 5 – Glen Lake Middle School, Maple City, MI
  • Thursday, Oct. 5, Author Talk & Signing,  Bos Wine, Elk Rapids, MI
  • Friday, Oct. 6, Traverse City West Middle School, Traverse City, MI
  • Friday, Oct. 6, Suttons Bay Middle School, Suttons Bay, MI
  • Saturday, Oct. 7, 2 p.m. Author Talk & Signing, Traverse Area District Library, McGuire Community Room, Traverse City, MI
  • Thursday, Oct. 12, Hudsonville Christian Middle School, Hudsonville, MI
  • Friday, Oct. 13, 4:30 p.m., Author talk at Okemos Library, Okemos, MI
  • Saturday, Oct. 14, Meet & Greet with book signing at Grandview Orchard, Hudsonville, MI
  • Friday, Oct. 20, Cityside Middle School, Zeeland, MI
  • Saturday, Oct. 21, 2-5 p.m.  Author visit & signing at Anderson & Girls, Stanton, MI

  • Wednesday, Oct. 25. Jenison Jr. High, Jenison, MI 
  • Friday, Nov. 3, Godwin Middle school, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Saturday, Nov. 4, 3 p.m., Poetry Workshop at Bluestocking Bookshop, Holland, MI (Ticket information to come)
  • Wed. Nov. 8 & Thursday, Nov. 9, Zeeland West High School, Writing Workshop, Zeeland, MI
  • Thursday, Nov. 9, Author talk at Patmos Library, Jamestown, MI
  • Friday, Nov. 10, Dutton Christian School, Caledonia, MI
  • Monday, Nov. 13, A Conversation with Jimmy Pappas and Friends, Zoom, 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Dec. 2, 9:30-11am, Signing at Little Dipper Cafe & Ice Cream Shoppe, Jamestown, MI 
  • Tuesday, Dec. 5, Michigan Apples Grower Luncheon, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Thursday, Dec. 7: Macatawa Bay Middle School, Holland, MI
  • Friday, Dec. 8, Harbor Lights Middle School, Holland, MI
  • Friday, Dec. 15, Northern Trails Middle School, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Saturday, Dec. 16: Signing and Meet & Greet, Barnes & Noble, Rivertown Crossings, Grandville, MI
  • Tuesday, Dec. 19: Michigan Reading Association, Adolescent Literacy Network Book Club, Zoom
  • Jan. 21, 2024: Book Club with St. David’s Episcopal Church, Richmond, VA